跳至主內容

史亞當博士

PhD (University of Chicago)

饒宗頤國學院副教授; 副教授, 中國語言文學系

Funding:

  • Early Career Scheme 
    HKD 320,000

Abstract

  • 殷墟花園莊東地甲骨卜辭最初發現於1991年,2003年整理印行六大冊圖版及釋文,構成一組短時間內形成而內容相當統一的商代史料,計收529件帶刻辭的龜甲和牛肩胛(其中345件完整),合共2,452條單獨卜辭。花東卜辭形成於晚商時期(約前1250–1045年),主人是一位成年的男性王族成員;鑑於商朝為中國第一個毫無疑問的王朝,這宗新發現堪稱早期中國史研究裡最重要的古文字材料之一。多年以來,早期中國史領域缺乏一大宗相對完整的甲骨文發現,以供學者進行語料庫為本、數據主導的科研項目,從製作卜辭的專業貞人角度,對其語言做系統而全面的分析。顯然學者必須先對卜辭的意義體系有全盤認識,方能開展研究工作。
        最理想的甲骨卜辭是完整無缺,並能夠與其他同時出土的甲骨完全對應起來,構成脈絡清晰的生成背景。這種發現在花東卜辭出來以前僅一二見。雖然部分花東卜辭在埋藏時經歷了斷裂和分散,大多數還是一組組繫聯在一起,讓學者得以重構數以週計、甚至月計的祭祀日程。經過重組的材料構成了中國第一部行事曆。難能可貴的是,貞卜記錄在語義上高度透明並保持完好,書體及內容統一,整理質量之高亦是前所未見,種種因素令它成為釋讀古文字文本、闡釋甲骨文語言的理想材料。花東卜辭可以歸入「王室卜辭」(為商朝王室成員製作的卜辭),全部約佔存世甲骨卜辭總數的百分之五;目前學界對(專門為商王所作的)「王卜辭」語言的研究早已碩果纍纍,相比之下對王室卜辭語言和語法的研究比較薄弱。可以預期,本研究所得將會與王卜辭語言相關的成果接軌,相得益彰。對於學界尚未充分把握的殷商甲骨文語言,本研究項目將會大大提高這方面的認識,並就各種不同的課題,例如商人貞卜的操作流程、刻手和貞人的作業方法、商代權貴的日常生活,以至這些受希望和恐懼驅使而作卜的卜辭主人憂心的事情,作出長足的貢獻。

Methodology

  • The project involves working with complete divination sets and exploring the way in which individual divinations within the set differed. I apply the research methodology of David S. Nivison who proposed what he called a “sound methodology”; namely, that “when two sentences look different…we ought if possible to assume that they are different. There is a converse to this principle: when two sentences look the same…we ought not to assume that they are different.”

Interdisciplinary expertise

  • China studies (Early China), ancient world studies, paleography, divination and scribal culture, transmission of expert knowledge, archaeology

Skip to main content

Dr. Adam Schwartz

PhD (University of Chicago)

Associate Director (JAS), Assistant Professor, Department of Chinese Language and Literature

Funding:

  • Early Career Scheme 
    HKD 320,000

Abstract

  • The Huayuanzhuang East oracle bone inscriptions, discovered in 1991 and published in six folio volumes in 2003, are a synchronically compact and unified corpus of 2,452 individual divination accounts inscribed on 529 (345 completely intact) turtle shells and bovine scapulae. Produced during the late Shang period (ca. 1250-1045), China’s first historical dynasty, and sanctioned under the patronage of an adult male of the royal family, this recent discovery now stands as one of the most important epigraphic finds in the history of Early China studies. What the field of Early China has needed for quite some time is more intact oracle bone discoveries that leverage a corpus-based and data-driven approach to make a systematic and holistic study of the language of the inscriptions from the perspective of the experts who produced them. A clear model of what the inscriptions mean is required before proceeding to do other things with them.
              The ideal Shang oracle bones are those that have come to us unbroken and with their full context of other shells and pieces. Prior to this discovery such conditions have been rare. Although they had become disjointed and separated during their disposal, the majority of the inscriptions can be linked together in integral divination sets that lead to reconstructed timelines that span periods of weeks or months. The reorganized materials produce what is essentially China’s earliest daily planner. The divination accounts are remarkably linguistically transparent and well preserved, homogeneous in orthography and content, and published to an unprecedentedly high standard, which makes them ideal material for reading the epigraphic texts and explaining their language. Scholarship on the language and grammar of oracle bone divinations produced on behalf of royal family members, which comprises approximately five percent of the total inscriptional corpus and is the type to which the Huayuanzhuang East inscriptions belong, is understudied and can be woven neatly into well-established scholarship on the language of oracle bone divinations produced for the Shang kings. This project will enhance our knowledge of Shang oracle bone language, still very imperfectly understood, as well as to contribute in important ways to knowledge about Shang divination practices, the methods of scribes and diviners, and the daily life and concerns of the powerful patrons whose hopes and fears drove the divination process.

Methodology

  • The project involves working with complete divination sets and exploring the way in which individual divinations within the set differed. I apply the research methodology of David S. Nivison who proposed what he called a “sound methodology”; namely, that “when two sentences look different…we ought if possible to assume that they are different. There is a converse to this principle: when two sentences look the same…we ought not to assume that they are different.”

Interdisciplinary expertise

  • China studies (Early China), ancient world studies, paleography, divination and scribal culture, transmission of expert knowledge, archaeology